Red Maple Tree – Same Yet Different

Last autumn I found a beautiful red maple tree in a local park, Saunders Park.  I made a few photographs of the tree and this year was anxious to photograph the tree again.  Same tree you ask?  Yes, the same tree, but from a different perspective.  A good challenge for me, something along the lines of shooting an iconic location, but trying to make a different image than everyone else.

Here are my images from last year.

Brilliant red maple tree on a foggy morning at Saunders Park in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

Brilliant red maple tree on a foggy morning at Saunders Park in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

Red Maple Tree on a cloudy day at Saunders Park

Red Maple Tree on a cloudy day at Saunders Park in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

And the view below, was not to be seen this year.  The summer was unseasonably hot, September unseasonably dry.  Many of the trees tried to show off their autumn color, but didn’t have enough energy.  Instead, they focused on surviving and allowing their leaves to turn brown and drop.

A view through the leaves at Saunders Park in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

A view through the leaves at Saunders Park in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

I thought my favorite red maple tree may turn brown as well.  But the beautiful red maple tree prevailed and my personal challenge was on!  Now, to photograph the tree from a different perspective.  A challenge as it is a local park and some of the background I consider to be distracting.

Red maple tree at Saunders Park, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

Red maple tree at Saunders Park, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

Red maple tree at Saunders Park, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

Red maple tree at Saunders Park, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

The above images were made with my DSLR.  One day while walking with Madison, I thought how can I photograph this tree different with my iPhone.  Using a different camera added to my challenge.  Could I have used a different lens with my DSLR to add to my challenge, yes, but I chose not to.  Maybe next year.

To see a larger version of the red maple tree images made with my DSLR, you may click on any of the images below.  To purchase a print of any of the images in the below gallery, please click here.  The same red maple tree in autumn, different perspectives, light and camera make for different images.  Do you have a favorite?  Leave me a comment!

 

7 thoughts on “Red Maple Tree – Same Yet Different

  1. Bob

    I am impressed…Check out Crapo Park in Burlington…If it isn’t too late….

    Leaf Colors didn’t happen much in Geode State Park…

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

