Woodland Wildflowers in Iowa

An overcast day, called for a tranquil  walk in the woods to recharge after a rough few weeks.  We had to say good-bye to our best friend, Molly, three weeks ago.  It was sudden and unexpected.  The trail I walked today, Molly and I had walked four weeks ago and there was not one sign of spring that day. I was in shock at how many wildflowers were in bloom and how many more are yet to come!  Today was a perfect day to start photographing the woodland wildflowers in Iowa.

I saw Dutchman’s Breeches, Bloodroot, Trilliums and several that I am not familiar with.  All of the wildflowers that were blooming today were mostly white, some with a hint of pink.  They were all so small, I spent most of the afternoon on the ground which was wet from all of the recent rain.  My rain pants were left at home, leaving my dirty jeans to tell the story.  I did see some burgundy trilliums getting ready to open, some yellow wildflowers that I haven’t seen before and foliage that could be other wildflowers.  It’s a whole new world for me!  Fortunately, the woodland wildflowers bloom early in spring before the snakes are out.  Although a timber rattlesnake has not been seen in the park in many years, I will be on the lookout once the temperature rises.

You can click on any of the images of the woodland wildflowers in Iowa below to see a larger image.

5 thoughts on “Woodland Wildflowers in Iowa

  1. Nancy

    I feel freshness and can smell the forest just by looking at your photos. Beautiful photography!
    My heartfelt condolences about your love… Molly.

    Like

    Reply
    1. tbeckerphotos Post author

      It did indeed feel fresh and smell like spring. Thank you for the condolences, a huge whole has definitely been left in my heart. Molly was my walking buddy, hiking buddy and scouting for photography buddy and always ready to go!

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

