Swinging Bridge In Winter

Bob and Molly on the swinging bridge at Oakland Mills State Park

Bob and Molly on the swinging bridge at Oakland Mills State Park

My favorite image of 2015 was the swinging bridge at Oakland Mills State Park in Henry County, Iowa made this fall.  It is a scene that I plan to photograph often and in the different seasons.  Earlier this week we had about 3 inches of sleet and snow.  Hoping to find the bridge covered in snow, but no tracks, my husband, Molly and I ventured out to the park yesterday.

 

Skunk River at Oakland Mills, Henry County, Iowa

Skunk River at Oakland Mills, Henry County, Iowa

Although it is Christmas break, no one had crossed the bridge and the snow was untouched with the exception of a few squirrel tracks, which had been partially covered with a light dusting of snow very early yesterday morning.  I made a similar image to the one I had made in the fall.  I wanted the same soft light and waited for a heavy cloud to shade the sun.  Across the bridge the trees were basking in the soft winter sunshine.  After the image was made, we headed across the bridge and down to the Skunk River.  On the way back I made a quick image of Bob and Molly crossing the bridge to provide perspective as to the length of this swinging bridge.  To see a high resolution image or to purchase a print, click on the image below.

swinging bridge oakland mills state park henry county iowa

The swinging bridge at Oakland Mills State Park in Henry County, Iowa in winter.

2 thoughts on “Swinging Bridge In Winter

  1. Sandy Wolfe

    My girlfriend and I and my dog Buddy were there last Saturday,the 30th of January, and it was awesome! Much needed outside time….good therapy! One of my favorite places to go! We have a few pics ourselves!!!!

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

