Net Art

A couple of weeks ago I went to downtown Phoenix with a group of photographers through Meetup.com. Shooting in downtown at night has been something I have wanted to do for a while. Quite often I shoot alone, but downtown is not somewhere I would be comfortable by myself so this was the perfect opportunity. Street photography and night photography are both genres out of my comfort zone. I struggled with getting shots I was happy with until our last stop at Phoenix Civic Space Park. This piece of net art in Phoenix was designed by Boston artist Janet Echelman and is titled “Her Secret is Patience”. The artwork has certainly had its critics.  Due to wind and sun the sculpture, which is made of polyester and weighs about 750 pounds, has to be replaced every five to six years and the old net will be recycled.  In the gallery below are three images of parts of the sculpture.  All three images were shot with my 50 mm 1.8 lens as that was the lens I chose to shoot the entire evening.  Why?  It is my fastest lens, it’s sharp and being a prime lens it challenges me with my compositions.  Although the net art in Phoenix was based on a cactus, the middle image reminded me of a tornado which is one of the nicknames for the artwork.

17 thoughts on “Net Art

    1. tbeckerphotos Post author

      Thank you Scott! You have probably driven past this several times. During the day, it’s not so pretty, but at night it’s a different story! As the one image reminds me of a tornado it would be fun to photograph it during monsoon season.

      Like

      Reply
      1. seekraz

        You’re welcome…and yes, I have passed it many times. Thinking about this piece encouraged me to fill some spare time with productive image-making….with a post to follow shortly. 🙂

        It does rather look like a tornado, doesn’t it? The artist’s website indicates that the monsoon clouds were part of her inspiration for the work….so it would be kind of wild to catch it during a storm….especially at night with the colored spot-lights on.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: “Her Secret is Patience” | Scott's Place...Images and Words

What do you think?

