Never Forget – Where I Was on 9/11

On this 13th anniversary of 9/11 Americans are reflecting on the incredible loss we suffered that day. It’s hard to believe it has already been 13 years.  A day Americans and many around the world will never forget.

Healing Field Tempe Town Lake

Healing Field Tempe Town Lake

Living in the Southwest and the time being 3 hours earlier than the East Coast where the terrible tragedies unfolded, I was still asleep when the planes hit the Twin Towers.  As my husband works evenings, I was being very quiet getting ready for work that morning.  No tv, no radio, no idea what had happened.  It was my one year employee anniversary at the company I was working for.  While driving to work that morning I was listening to the radio and trying to figure out what was going on.  I couldn’t believe what was being reported.  It didn’t seem real.  Arriving at the office, there were people in the conference room watching the news and I could see what I had been hearing on the radio.  It still didn’t seem real.  How could two jets fly direct into the Twin Towers?  Then to hear it being reported that another jet had flown into the Pentagon and a fourth jet had crashed in Pennsylvania.  A day I will never forget…..

 

 

4 thoughts on “Never Forget – Where I Was on 9/11

  1. Bob

    I was having coffee at Dicky’s….when Linda (Upton) Stith came in and told us that a plane had crashed into the

    World Trade Center….Didn’t think much about it…and said…..”A plane crashed into the Empire State Building

    During WW 11……How little did I KNOW…..

    bob

    Like

    Reply
  2. mrsbearfoot

    Lovely capture of the flags. We have visited the Healing Field at Tempe Town Lake in the past. It’s amazing to see it in person.

    I was at work in Mesa. Mike was on a trail ride in Monument Valley and it was 3 days before any of them on the trail ride heard about what had happened. They were so far removed from civilization that there was no cell phone reception, etc.

    Lindy

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

