Friday Floral – Make It Pop!

Previously, I have written about using a reflector to make your images pop.  Today’s post is about using a diffuser to also make your image have some pizzazz.

This first image was taken without using a reflector or diffuser.  While the image is okay, the yellow columbine tends to blend in with the background.

yellow columbine flower

This second image I used my diffuser to shade the background.  Thankfully, I have long arms in order to hold the diffuser behind the columbine far enough to darken the background.  When processing this next image, I copied the setting in Lightroom from the first image in order to accurately show the difference.

yellow columbine flower

Now the yellow columbine stands out from the background creating a much more pleasing image.  When making this image, it still wasn’t quite right for me.  I thought the flower was too horizontal.

In this final image, I tiled my camera just a bit more to have the flower at more of an angle.  Again, a diffuser was used to shade the background.

yellow columbine flower

What do you think?

