Friday Floral – Which Reflector Is Right?

Last Friday my post was about using a 5-in-1 reflector and how it enhanced my images using the gold reflector.  My 5-in-1 reflector has 4 different reflectors (gold, white, silver and silver/gold) and a diffuser making it a 5-in-1.

gardenia flower

 

For this week I wanted to show how each side of the reflector changes the image.  Mygardenia has been blooming for about a week or so and early one morning I made some images.  It was in full shade making the light perfectly even.  Once again, the image seemed flat to me.

 

http://tbeckerphotos.artistwebsites.com/featured/can-you-hear-it-tamara-becker.html

 

Using my reflector, I started with the gold side that casts a warm glow.  The image looked too yellow to me on my LCD screen.

 

http://tbeckerphotos.artistwebsites.com/featured/can-you-hear-it-tamara-becker.html

 

 

I then chose to try the white reflector to see how much light it would bounce into the image without the yellow cast.  At this point I decided it was the perfect opportunity to use each reflector on the same composition to show how each reflector changes the image.

http://tbeckerphotos.artistwebsites.com/featured/can-you-hear-it-tamara-becker.html

 

 

Next, I unzipped the reflector, turned it to the other two colors (silver/gold and silver) to make images with those sides.  This image is with the silver/gold reflector which is more neutral than the solid gold reflector.

http://tbeckerphotos.artistwebsites.com/featured/can-you-hear-it-tamara-becker.html

 

 

My final image is using the solid silver reflector.  A few months ago I read a blog post where the photographer used a silver reflector for a white flower.  I was anxious to see how the image would look using the silver reflector.  This is not a color I have used before as it casts such a cool light into an image.

 

Which reflector is the right one to use?  That depends on the story you are wanting to tell.  My favorite is the last image using the silver reflector.  I like how the flower is pure white and there are shadows creating the look of 3D and the background is dark making the flower pop even more.

Leave me a comment and let me know which image you like best!

Here is a gallery so you can click on each image to see it in a larger format.

2 thoughts on “Friday Floral – Which Reflector Is Right?

  1. Phoenix Tears Healed

    I’ve never used anything like these myself; but I if I did I would use the solid silver one; it brings up a cool clarity; it’s beautiful; and best of all it does not look in any way false or ‘messed with to achieve an effect’, it retains and enhances the natural. Just imo; thanks for sharing different try-outs, it’s helpful to see 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. tbeckerphotos Post author

      This is the first time I used the silver reflector with it looking the best. I usually use the gold or silver/gold to pop light into shadows during the golden hour which is very warm light. At that time of day the silver would look strange with warm light from one direction and then trying to bounce cool light into the opposite side.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Tamara

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

