Friday Floral – Reflectors and An Odd Find

Last Friday I wrote about shooting Iris on Earth Day at Boyce Thompson Arboretum.  Another flower that I photographed was an odd find and quite the surprise.

Tucked away in a shady spot was a large container with an Amaryllis in bloom.  The Amaryllis looked out of place, as if someone had just put it there without any rhyme or reason.  There were so many beautiful orange-red blooms!  I think of this as being a Christmas flower, not something you would see in bloom in late April.

 

The first image was shot in full shade with no reflector or flash. Although the light is even and soft and the red blooms vibrant, it seemed a bit flat to me when making the image.  The background has a nice blur, but the image looks 2 dimensional and not what our eyes would see.

 

 

 

For the next two images I pulled out my 5-in-1 reflector and chose to use the gold side.   I held the reflector up and to the right of my camera creating side light.  In these images you can see shadows giving the images the look of 3 dimension as our eyes would see.  The orange-red is a richer color and by using the reflector on the flowers, the background is darker making the flowers pop even more.

 

 

 

 

This third image I was able to get rather close and really show the texture on the stamens.

 

 

 

 

I chose to leave the images untitled for now.  Leave me a comment if a title(s) shouts out at you!

You can click on each image below to see a larger view:

2 thoughts on “Friday Floral – Reflectors and An Odd Find

What do you think?

