Friday Floral – Opulent, Frilly and Feathers

I spent the morning of Earth Day shooting at Boyce Thompson Arboretum.  I had heard the iris were in bloom and gorgeous.  Iris are not native to Arizona, but can be grown here.

lavender iris in bloom

Growing up in the midwest, iris were quite common.  My hometown’s official flower is the iris.  My mom had iris and her eldest brother had iris.  My uncle was quite proud of his iris and the show they displayed every year.  So it’s no wonder that I have a personal admiration for iris.  As I won’t be shooting flowers in the midwest this spring, this was not an opportunity to be missed. Especially as Earth Day is an extra special day for me.

purple iris in bloom

This was the first time shooting iris with my 105mm macro lens and was more challenging that I expected.  Not only are the flowers much larger than the wildflowers in Arizona, they have more shape and texture.   While processing my images, I wondered what images could have been made with my 50mm 1.8 lens.  Sometimes that lens works better for larger flowers and also has a greater depth of field.  As it is 150 miles roundtrip to the arboretum, a second trip is unlikely.

lavender iris

Happy Friday everyone, hope you enjoy this week’s post!

8 thoughts on “Friday Floral – Opulent, Frilly and Feathers

    1. tbeckerphotos Post author

      Lindy,

      Thank you for your continued support and very kind words! I don’t know if I have a favorite either. Lots of contemplating these days as to the path of my photography. As much as I love all nature photography, including landscape, macro is my true passion. Considering taking the path of exclusive macr photography.

      Tamara 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Friday Floral – Reflectors and An Odd Find | Different Isn't Wrong, It's Just Different

What do you think?

