Vellum

I spent the morning of Earth Day shooting at  Boyce Thompson Arboretum.  It had been almost a year since my last outing there making my trip long overdue.  I had heard from another photographer that the Demonstration Garden was full of flowers and was anxious to see what I could find.

The Desert Meadow was full of Mexican Evening Primrose (Oenothera belrlandieri).  The flowers are about 2 inches in diameter and the petals are paper-thin with pink veins and a sweet fragrance.  Although they look delicate, they are easy to grow and can be invasive as they spread.  They require little water and maintenance and look great as a ground cover.

I use to have them in the front yard of another home we lived in and enjoyed them each spring.  Maybe next spring I’ll find a place in the yard of our current home to plant them.

pink wildflowers

 

2 thoughts on “Vellum

What do you think?

