Friday Floral – More Night Bloomers

This week I have had the pleasure of shooting night blooming cacti both at night and early in the morning.  These images were all taken early in the morning at the Desert Botanical Garden.  At the end of this post will be gallery so you can see larger views of the images.

white night blooming cactus flowersI had been watching this particular cactus for a few weeks watching the blooms get larger.  It had been several days since I had last visited the garden and thought I may have missed them.  I was hoping they would be pink, but alas they were white.  There were three blooms on the top and two more at the bottom of the cactus.   Using my 50mm 1.8 D lens, I was able to get the entire cactus in the frame along with the surrounding area to show the scene.  Certainly not an artistic image, but knew I wanted to share here in a post so you could get a better visual of the cactus as a whole.  When making this particular image, it reminded me of a strapless mermaid style dress with frills along the top and the bottom.  Does anyone else see that?

white night blooming cactus flowers

The close-ups of the three flowers on top and then another image of the two bottom flowers, I used my 105mm 2.8 macro lens.  Fortunately I had quite a bit of room to move around in order the get all three flowers in the frame.  These flowers are approximately 6 inches in diameter requiring a fair amount of distance with my macro lens.  My camera is a Nikon D7000 which is a crop sensor of 1.5 making the focal length approximately 152 mm on a full frame sensor.

white night blooming cactus flowers

 

There are several varieties of night blooming cacti and I hope to time it right so that I can photograph some others, especially the pink.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Floral – More Night Bloomers

What do you think?

