Wildflowers and Bees

What’s happening in my yard?  Lots of wildflowers this year and the bees are collecting pollen!  All of these photos were made with my Nikon Coolpix P7000.

20140220-20140220-DSCN4484

The above is a broad view of my front yard.  Blooming are Desert Bluebells and Mexican Gold Poppies. There are a few Lupine starting to bloom too.

Wildflowers growing in the space between the drive and the garage floor in front of the garage door.

Wildflowers growing in the space between the drive and the garage floor in front of the garage door.

20140220-20140220-DSCN4498

It’s so fun to watch the bees hard at work and I have never been stung.

20140220-20140220-DSCN4511

It amazes me how far they get as far into the flower as possible.

The tiniest bee I have ever seen!

The tiniest bee I have ever seen!

20140220-20140220-DSCN4509

Although my yard is almost in full bloom, the early bloomers are already going to seed.  The wildflowers are so confused this year with the early warm temperatures.  Typically my yard is not in full bloom until the third week of March.

Bee barely hanging on!

What a surprise to look at this photo at 100% when I was processing it.  Shocked that the bee is in focus and barely hanging on!

I did shoot with my DSLR and macro lens today, maybe one of those photos will be my Friday Floral post tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “Wildflowers and Bees

  1. Pingback: Friday Floral – Threes | Different Isn't Wrong, It's Just Different

What do you think?

