What’s Happening In My Yard?

Several years ago I sprinkled a small package of wildflower seeds that I had purchased at the Desert Botanical Garden.  The seed was a mix of Mexican Gold Poppies, Lupine (unsure of which variety) and Desert Bluebells.  The packaged stated it was enough seed  to cover about 10 sq. feet.  And after all these years, the wildflowers cover my front yard, the side yard by the driveway and part of the backyard!

Each year I allow the wildflowers to reseed for the following year.  The Gambel Quail in the neighborhood enjoying feasting on the seeds as well.  Once they have all died and released their seeds I then pull the remnants.  Not a task I enjoy doing and each year I ask myself why I let the wildflowers reseed.  Oh yes, for the joy they bring me each spring!

So what is happening in my yard right now?  Below are a few photos I took this morning.  I have never had Desert Bluebells with such large leaves or so tall!  Hope this is a sign of what is happening in the desert!  May have to do some early scouting at Bartlett Lake and Lake Pleasant.

Maybe each week I’ll  post an update of what is happening in my yard!

Desert Bluebell Leaf

Desert Bluebell Leaf

Desert Bluebells

Desert Bluebells

Not weeds, but wildflowers!

Not weeds, but wildflowers!

So many wildflowers this year!

So many wildflowers this year!

Desert Bluebells in bloom, a macro shot with my compact Nikon P7000

Desert Bluebells in bloom, a macro shot with my compact Nikon P7000

2 thoughts on “What’s Happening In My Yard?

    1. tbeckerphotos Post author

      We did have about 8 inches of rain in 2013. Surprisingly, the Desert Bluebells that are so large and already blooming this year only receive water when it rains. Our front yard actually receives additional water when we use a soaker hose for our Desert Museum tree and shrubs and only a few of the wildflowers there are already in bloom. Very strange year for my wildflowers!

      Tamara

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

