Friday Floral – Banana Anyone?

This week I chose to post one image processed two different ways.  One in color and one in black and white.  Originally when processing this image I immediately decided to process it in black and white.  Recently, my mind started wondering what it would look like if it had been processed in color.  Although I like the color version, the black and white is still my favorite.  A side note, this image was taken the same day I saw the rattlesnake last spring.  You can read that post at Eek!  That’s A Rattlesnake.  This image was along Four Peaks Road and taken handheld from my SUV as I was still a bit afraid of running into another rattlesnake.   A couple other images and stories can be read at After The Rattlesnake and A Different Photo….

Which do you prefer?  Let me know!  The black and white image is available for purchase at TBecker Photos.

Update, the color version is now available for purchase at TBecker Photos.

Tech Info:  Nikon D7000 105 mm 2.8 macro, f5.6, 1/60 sec, iso 400, polarizer filter basic post processing

Tech Info: Nikon D7000 105 mm 2.8 macro, f5.6, 1/60 sec, iso 400, polarizer filter
basic post processing

Tech Info:  Nikon D7000, 105 mm 2.8 macro, f5.6, 1/60 sec, iso 400, polarizer filter processed for black and white

Tech Info: Nikon D7000, 105 mm 2.8 macro, f5.6, 1/60 sec, iso 400, polarizer filter
processed for black and white

4 thoughts on “Friday Floral – Banana Anyone?

  1. kathryningrid

    I’m in love with B/W art, and have posted about it, but find to my surprise that I prefer the color image here slightly. I guess maybe the softness and subtlety of the creamy color on the blooms makes such an interesting contrast with the hard-edged, pointy shapes of them and the yucca leaves that it gets a little extra visual energy from that.

    Thanks for coming by my blog and leading me back here! I look forward to seeing much more of your excellent work!

    Cheers,
    Kathryn

    Like

    Reply
    1. tbeckerphotos Post author

      Thank you Kathryn! My husband who usually is drawn to b/w images, prefers the color as well. Looking at the image again, the color seems to be speaking to me more than the b/w. I think the color image will have to go up for sell!

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

